Posted in Baking

Butter Pecan Cookies

Pecans in my part of the world are an exotic nut and used to be hard to find. If you are based in South America/USA/Canada (that part of the world), Pecans will most likely be a daily item since they are grown in/around those regions. So, this was my first time baking with Pecans.

I love the subtle but strong earthy flavour Pecans bring to the table. Yes, I know I used subtle and strong together but if you are a Pecan fan (or nuts in general actually especially hazelnuts and walnuts) you know what I mean! These cookies are simple in terms of their flavour profile as well as method of preparation. I won’t do my normal run through with this one but you can scroll down for the recipe.  🙂

IMG_20170611_162506225

IMG_20170611_213144903

 

If you like some extra sugar in your cookies, then you can just roll them in castor sugar once baked. That also makes them look prettier. I was going for more of a home-made that makes you feel warm inside vibe than a quaint cafe that you love but is more of a special treat than an everyday thing.
I don’t know if that sentence made sense at all, it did in my head anyway.

I hope you enjoy these cookies. Have fantastic weekend everyone! Hug someone close to you and treat yourself!  ♥


Butter Pecan Cookies 

Ingredients:

Pecans 100 g
Butter 120 g, cubed
Castor sugar 70 g
Flour 130 g
Vanilla Extract 1 tsp

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 C. Toast your Pecan in the hot oven for 6-8 minutes. Be careful not to burn them.
  2. Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Mix in the vanilla and salt.
  3. Slowly, mix in the flour until just combined. Fold in the Pecans.
  4. Roll your dough (might be a little sticky) into a log.
  5. Chop into 12 pieces and roll in some castor sugar. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes.
I would love to hear from you!

