Posted in Baking

Cinnamon Latte Cupcakes

I was going through  my recipe book and realised that most of the recipes I had were cheesecakes and I got nothing but glowing reviews about these cupcakes. This recipe calls for browned butter instead of regular salted butter to take it up a notch and believe me it definitely does amp up the flavor. Now since I hadn’t made browned butter before I wasn’t and still am not sure if I got it right. There are two main traits that browned butter has 1.The brown color  2.A strong nutty smell. I achieved the smell but the color well, you can see the result.IMG_20150420_164753187

Once you have your butter ready and are waiting for it to cool, get your dry and wet mixes ready.

Milk+Coffee and Flour+Salt+Cinnamon+Baking Powder
Milk+Coffee and Flour+Salt+Cinnamon+Baking Powder

The miracle happened when I added brown sugar to the butter, I had this glossy, thick and luscious mix which tasted AMAZING and definitely different from when you mix regular melted butter and sugar, so I say I succeeded in making browned butter. Beat in the eggs and one by one and then add the vanilla until fully incorporated.
IMG_20150420_170153047

Now, add the dry and wet mixes to the butter mix, alternating between the two. Mix and make sure you have no lumps. Start filling the cupcake liners about 3/4 way full with batter, then bake at 180 C for 20-24 minutes. I used a pre-made icing I wanted to test but you can make this buttercream frosting.

The result was a soft chewy yummy cinnamony, and that’s a lot of ys’ nevertheless it was awesome.

IMG_20150420_185835788

Yields: 24 small or 12 big cupcakes

  •  240 g flour
  • 1 + 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 + 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 200 g browned butter
  • 90 g brown sugar, packed
  •  100 g granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  •  60 ml milk (room temp)
  • 60 ml brewed coffee
  1. Preheat oven to 180 C and line one 12 cup muffin pan with cupcake liners. Combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Combine milk and coffee in a small bowl.
  2. In a separate, larger bowl the beat browned butter and both sugars, followed by eggs, one at a time, until fully incorporated. Beat in vanilla.
  3. Mix in flour mixture and milk/coffee mixture in alternating batches (start with flour, then some milk, then some flour etc) until everything is mixed together and a thick, smooth batter has formed.
  4. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 way full with batter, then bake at 180 C for 20-24 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for a few minutes before carefully removing to a wire rack to cool completely.
I would love to hear from you!

